A Sojourn Jaunt to Dehradun, the Pride of Garhwal

Holidays are better planned but getaways are better unplanned. This is what I feel after having many jaunts to different places. A recent sojourn spree was to Dehradun over the last weekend. It was unanticipated, it was unplanned and unlike any of my usual holidays, I usually make.

For a lot of people, Doon is just a stopover en route to Rishikesh or Mussoorie. As for me, it was quite fascinating as it is just not possible to get bored because of its chock-full of assorted shopping options, cafes serving that serve sumptuous world cuisine and charming resorts and undoubtedly lofty hills.

While talking on the call with my friend, I got an idea to have a trip to a place nearby. With a thought of backpacking, deciding upon several places to visit, I chose Dehradun, the pride of Garhwal. I took a bus overnight and got off at Doon early Sunday morning.

With a milder weather, a cool puff of air blowing off my hair, I walked down the roads of the bustling city, looking for some good accommodation. But because of the weekend, many of the lodging facilities at Doon were packed. I headed straight to a tavern at Hotel City Palace, where I got a deluxe room with all the basic amenities.

After having my meals, I started my intraday. I set out to discover the serene beauty of the town. As I had just one day to travel, I visited three prime spots of the city namely, Robber’s Cave, Bhatta Fall and Sahastradhara.

Robber’s Cave:

Robber's Cave

I first visited the most popular spot of the city, Robber’s Cave. Also acknowledged as, Guchhupani, this is the prime picnic spot in all of Doon. The vicinity is well-known for its exceptional panoramic allure and grace. The solitary feature of the Robber’s Cave is that there is a water stream in that area, which ceases to exist underground and only appear a few meters away. If you seek a serene, calm, peaceful and mild environment, this is the perfect spot to visit.

I took a cab from Robber’s Cave to get to my next spot, Sahastradhara. It is around 8 km from Robber’s Cave.

Hotels in Dehradun

Sahastradhara:

Sahastradhara

Sahastradhara was the second next stop of my one-day journey. There are several caves and a number of waterfalls. This is the reason it is called Sahastradhara or thousands of springs. Here I stayed for the shortest duration as there was nothing much to hang around. I had my evening munch here, yeah it was MAGGIE!!!

I soon took a cab for the next landing-place, Bhatta Fall!

OYO Rooms in Dehradun.

Bhatta Fall:

Bhatta Falls

Here I was a bit scared of the bumpy and uneven roads. The cab driver was too sharp with his driving skills. But the picturesque location took all my fear away and I experienced the nature at its best. I got down and saw a waterfall in a verdant and leafy mountain drawing hikers and picnickers to chill off in the spray. Although the mainstream was full of algae, I found refreshing water down the pond. I took off my bag and went right under the Fall. The water was so refrigerating and it was soothing the body. All the tiredness vanished in a few minutes and I was refreshed with the bath I had there.

Also, read Ajmer-The Celestial City.

After having spent quality time in the Fall, I realized it is getting dark and I have to return back to Delhi. I wrapped up with everything out there and took a cab to come back to Dehradun Bus Stand. The trip ended with a whirling drive to Doon Bus stop, followed by an overnight journey to Delhi, and yeah memories unlimited.

But, this trip to Doon was tempting!!! Stay tuned for another exciting story to some thrilling place.

Keep drifting!!!!

Categories Travel, Travel DiairesTags , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close