How I Became a Rover?

According to a research, not the person who has the most stuff, but the person with the most experience wins. I fathomed that travelling and outdoor activities will give you long lasting happiness than anything else.

Somewhere I read a quote, Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer, and this quote gave me a spark to become a vacationer. I started travelling alone in my college days. The very first expedition of mine was from Ajmer (Rajasthan) to Jaipur (Rajasthan). I was a li’l scared, as I had to travel all alone. However, this trip made me come across various prospects of life, of which I was unaware. Being a middle-class suburb girl, I had many glitches before making the very first solo trip that too for a very short distance of around 130 km. The most difficult of all was to convince my parents, but it went on smoothly.

img_20161029_081114
PC: Rahul Mishra

 

With no travel experience, I discovered the possibilities of the world. The tour had transformed me into a matured person, who had the freedom to make decisions of her own, manage the expenses, talk to whomever I wanted to, getting lost on the road and to witness the hustle around me, saw real poverty and meeting new people. I also learned about different culture.

The trip was a memorable one and had many great and worst experiences. I had a certain amount of money to spend and had to muddle through everything in that particular sum. This was the journey where I explored that our experiences are a bigger part of ourselves than our material goods. I felt like a free bird. It was hard to travel alone at that point of time but the experience had made me forget all my worries and tensions.

When I came back home I was full of happiness and joy. Moreover, I had many stories to narrate to my friends and family, had many unforgettable memories and people in my head. I was wishing to go back again and never come back. This was the time where I was hooked up with travelling and I realised that real happiness lies not in material things but gaining experience.

Now I have a good job and I have travelled many places in India. However, I have not been everywhere but it is on my list.

Abridging with this, I would like to share the following things I learnt from the very first solo trip of my life:

  • Learnt of new culture
  • Learnt how to depend purely on me
  • Made new friends in a world of strangers
  • Learnt to be free
  • Listen to self
  • Learnt decision-making and being true with oneself
  • Learnt to test my limits
  • Became more responsible and learnt to face fear
Categories Travel DiairesTags , , , , , ,

1 thought on “How I Became a Rover?

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close